Board Games

Finally the day has arrived where we display our work.  The space we have is small.  Enough to put one A2 board landscape, with a few millimetres either side.  There is height for more, but the boards are a little too high for my tastes.  Too dominating.  Too enclosing.  We have two of these each and a tiny shelf.  One shelf.  One triangular shelf.  The rest of the work can go on the floor – not very professional in my eyes – or on a separate table, away from your stand.  Not very coherent.  This is my opinion, but I feel the boards are equally too big and too small.  They are tall so they block out light, but are too small for a unique display.  They are bare wood as well so they absorb light.  Our studio isn’t the brightest so sucking up this light makes no sense to me.  The display is not just about the idea, the model or the posters, it is also about the sell.  If it wasn’t, window dressing wouldn’t be a job.  We are all creative people so we wish to display our stuff as we want.  It’s our idea on show, so surely we should display it as we want?

 

Anyway, rant over.

 

The model.

As you know, if you have been kindly following my blog, I only got my hands on the second half of my drill a few days ago.  Three days before showtime in fact.  This meant that I had to rush the model.  Not what I wanted to do but it was the situation I was in.  Even though the finish of the CNC model wasn’t smooth (at all), I managed to sand, fill ad infinitum until I had a finish I was happy with.  The problem I encountered was the different colours I had for the handle and the top half.  As I sprayed them at separate times, the layering of the different paint colours meant that they are not as cohesive as I would like.  It does look good, considering the time and difficulties I had to contest with.

20170604_075706

 

The show

The display was fairly easy to set up.  With limited space for the A2 posters, this basically dictated my layout.  Even spacing, keep it straight and simple.  Done.  I decided to put nothing on the bottom half of the display as I didn’t want it too overcrowded – I have done this before; less is definitely more – and I feel that it is shadowed too much by the meagre shelf.  As a display, I am happy enough with it.  Regardless of the stands, I think I am happy with my posters and model.  I have been so close to the project for so long now that I can’t look at it objectively.  In fact, I have lost any emotion for the images or design now.  I look at them and think, yeah, they are my posters.  I don’t look and think, yeah, great stuff.  I hope they do look good.  I hope it is just a case of over familiarity.

20170606_155824

 

My biggest concern is people not understanding the idea.  It is more than just a drill.  It is about connection, materiality, disposal, life and death.  I hope people read the abstract and get some of it, at least.  Otherwise, people will just look and say, “hmmm, a brown drill.  That’s okay.”  Next year I need to work on the simplicity.  This idea is very simple: old metal shines as you interact with it.  Your marks start to shine through.  Your connection to the machine.  But there are many tiny elements to the design that I cannot get across in one clean image.  Things like the handle is further forward on this drill than a normal drill so that the human is more embedded into the machine.  Closer to the act of drilling.  Less distant.   This is the bit that I need to work on: communication.  Entice the viewer in, then grab them with details.  I’ll get there, I hope.

 

Leave a Reply

