Melting

Progress is stalling.

My presentation boards were sent to the printers last week and have come out well.  This is good as they were not cheap!  £8 for a single A2 sheet!  One sheet!  What makes this more of a punch in the face is that an A3 sheet is £1.60!?!?  Huh?

 

Add to this spray paint – of various grades – mount board, spray mount, filler and costs are beginning to spiral!

But hey, I have two kidneys, I can sell one, right?

 

So why is progress slow?  My model is MIA.  Well, 62% of my model is missing, to be exact.  As my design is in two halves – the handle is also a separate torch – I submitted four files for CNC.  Two for the top halves, two for the bottom.  Unbeknownst to me, anything more than two files would be classed as extra work and will be left to the end of the list.  I understand this as it is more work, but it seems a little unfair to be penalised for my design.  If it was an auxiliary handle, or a second model, no worries, leave it to the end, but this is most of my drill.  The whole concept of my drill is that a trace is left behind on the drill, after the user has left it behind.  A visible connection to the past.  I want to spray the model in way to indicate this pattern change.  How can I do this with only part of my model?  As I write this, it is 2 days till presentation day.  I am meant to produce my model and the process of construction it has undergone.  Thankfully Paul has given us an extra week to do this, but when I am informed I may not get my handle until Tuesday | Wednesday at the earliest, I literally have days to make it look great.  Three weeks, Paul said it would take to make finish the model.  At this rate, it will be three days.  Literally, three days.  I was advised to 3D print it, but it won’t fit on the machine.  And the machine is out of filament.  And it would cost a fortune.

So I have made the most of what I have already: the top half.

 

As you can see, the model arrived rough.  Well, one half was semi smooth, the other had a stepped, rough outer face.  Like a pine cone.

20170519_182549

This will end up as 90% filler

 

Brill.  This will take a lot of filler.  I did check with Paul right at the beginning what type of filler can be put on model board.  He said it shouldn’t need any filler after CNC.  I have used a tin of body filler so far.  Just on the top half.

On the plus side, everything fits inside – motor, gearbox – so the mounts work as I hoped.  Plus, the boss and pin locating / connection system works a treat!  I had a feeling this would not be the case but a tiny trim with a Dremel – another new purchase to add to my costs – and they pop together neatly.  Whoop.

20170519_182528

So I filled, sanded, filled some more and sanded even more.  To a point that my fingers are so smooth I could do a bank job sans gloves and leave without a trace.  On a negative, I can’t seem to grip anything anymore.

After many stages, the shell was looking good.  Onto the final coats.  Bronze has a patina which shows a variety of colours – black, brown, gold, blue – all of which I wanted to represent.

I laid a base coat down, hand painted some blue touches – sneakily using any imperfections in the finish as pockmarks for the blue, ‘old’ paint – and then spraying over my hand position to leave my mark behind.

 

It looks good in photos but looks great in real life.

(It is still drying at the moment so a finished image is pending)

I have also completed spraying the internals, but this wasn’t the easy ride I was hoping for.  I 3D printed them out early, whilst the printers weren’t so busy, giving myself some work whilst the CNC was pending.  I sanded them, washed them, and left them in my conservatory to dry.  They melted.  Literally, warped out of shape.

Damn.

 

This put me behind.  I had to reprint, resand, respray just to get back to where I was a few weeks ago.  I’m sure someone doesn’t want my model made!

 

Onto virtual reality now.  The presentation.  This has been completed yet in a state of perpetual tweaking for a few weeks now.  I am taking a risk with this one.  I know that this brief is all about manufacturing processes so I should talk about wall thickness, injection moulding and other such things, but it is not for me.  I am spending most of the 10 minutes discussing why we design, where product design currently is and why we don’t need another drill.  If there is no genuine reason to design the object, it should not be designed.  I mean a genuine reason as well, not, it now has a more powerful motor and comes with an extra grippy handle.  The motor should replace the old one and the grippy handle is nothing ‘new’.  Advertised as new, but really?  This project is about sustainable, ethical design.  What’s ethical about making ‘false new’ stuff?  This is what my project is about and what my presentation will cover.  Wish me luck.  I may need it.

Leave a Reply

