Be Brief?

Well I must admit, I have been very slack with my blogging of late.  Post the whole dissertation prep document, I have been playing catch-up.
So, let us do a quick catch-up regarding the DRILL BRIEF!!!!!!
My design is all about what is ‘New’.
In contemporary design, New means shiny, flashy, sparkling, unboxing, without fault, safe, blah, blah, blah.  Once it is not New – it has been used for a short period of time – it has lost its shine.  We lose our connection to it, we love it less.  It is just an object we own, not something we continue to covert.
Something NEW, New comes along and we want that.  Our old New is dead to us.  Scratched up garbage that has lost its lustre.
My design seeks to challenge these conventions.  That New doesn’t mean shiny.  That ‘old’ doesn’t mean dead.
We lose our connection to the materiality of things.  We need to consider where the materials come from and the loss of worth they quickly have for us.
Through a careful selection of materials, subtle suggestions with the form and a few designs nods, I think I’m getting there.
So what have I been doing?
Previously, my response to this brief was to not design at all as there a plenty of drills out there, but after the discussions documented above, I had a reason to continue.  The drill would be a metaphor for this.  I don’t see the point of designing just to design.  There needs to be genuine backing behind every tiny element of it, otherwise, it is not justified.  I hope this gets noticed in the Viva as that is what I am going for.  This shouldn’t be an exercise in ticking boxes.  A display of proficiency with software and model board.
Why did you design it?
Because DIY people would like a drill that looks like it was designed by Ferrari and it has a spirit level on the back?
Because it’s the brief?
It is all well and good presenting detailed CAD, and classy Photoshop, but why was it designed?  Without justifying this – the first box to be ticked – the rest of the boxes should have a lot less of an impact.  CAD for CAD’s sake.
Justified-reason-for-designing-box-ticked (in my head anyway), I sketched.
Because I want my design to reflect a period where things were designed to last and are still converted now, I went with the American Streamliner aesthetic.
I have also put together a rather random looking questionnaire here.  If you fancy adding to the stats, all information would be greatly appreciated.
I then made a quick proportion model to see if my handle / drill body balance point was right, (more on this cryptic point in a future blog).
(It seems I may have misplaced this photo!  I will update).
With this in the bag, I went to make a few blue foam models based on the sketches.

The Hunchback of Notre Dame Returns

At some point during first term field, I had an issue with my lower back.
Well, urr……It is….urrr…back.
No way was I able to sit at a work bench carving out blue foam for hours on end.
Plan B!
CAD!
I stood up at my makeshift desk and proceeded to bash out a few quick CAD models for them to be CNC machined out.
This, it seems, was not as easy as it first appeared.
In short, SW and I are not easy bed fellows.  It likes to work in one way – polyester shirt and tie type of affair – whereas I like a less formal way of going about things.
My work flow, therefore, has been halted by the Blue Ring of Death.
Leave a Reply

